The Forum is administered separately from the rest of the website - please log in below to post
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Albert Ball VC

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Chris C View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Chris C Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Albert Ball VC
    Posted: 22 Jan 2011 at 17:41

I am a military artist (www.collingwoodhistoricart.com) and I have been commissioned to paint a portrait of Albert Ball VC. I have chosen to set the image in early 1917 when Ball was a (temp) Captain and flight commander of 56 squadron. I wish to show him wearing his infantry jacket and not the more often copied ‘Maternity’ fronted tunic. I know he wore both during this period. Here the problems begin as I need to know if he wore the cuff titles of a captain or retained his single pip second lieutenant distinction. Also the photo I have shows an infantry tunic with very indistinct collar badges and unreadable button design. (Possibly Sherwood Forrester s)I need to know what these are.Please can you help? Many thanks, Chris Collingwood

NickForder View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote NickForder Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jan 2011 at 08:53
Chris
Ball would have been wearing rank badges relating to his local rank (i.e. Captain).

He was commissioned in to the 2/7th (Robin Hood Rifles) Battalion, The Sherwood Foresters (Notts & Derbys), Territorial Force.